Super Bowl Eve

Scrolling through my previous entries, it looks like I wrote a blog post on January 31, 2014. So why not do the same thing exactly a year later? I’m excited about the same thing as I was then: the Seahawks’ trip to the Super Bowl tomorrow! I actually got to follow their season from Seattle this year, surrounded by crazy 12s all the time, but once again, I’ll be watching the game from the Midwest. I’m pretty easy to spot here in Rochester because my car still has Washington plates and a 12th Man bumper sticker on the back. No one has to question whom I’m rooting for.

In all honesty, the Hawks have had a big impact on the Pacific Northwest as a whole. They bring us together and get us riled up about life. And I’m a huge fan of the team’s philosophy of staying positive and taking it one goal at a time. We all need to plan for the future, but forever is made up of little moments. If something isn’t going right, you can stop and fix it. You have time. Instead of saying “no,” find something to say “yes” to that will replace the thing you don’t want to be doing, and keep going. This was the topic of discussion at a forum at my church I went to last week, too, regarding anxiety. If we tell our minds not to do something, that doesn’t quell the desire to do it. But if we give it a positive command to do something else instead of the bad thing, we respond to that better. It sounds to me like a helpful method for dealing with addiction, but I’m no expert in that field. All I know is that it’s making a difference for me right now, as I work on becoming healthier and finding my way on my own in a new city.

I’ve been here a full month now, and every day has been an adventure. Work is going well – last week was rough with all of our deadlines and new things coming out, but we made it and are working towards the future. We’re working, too, on staying affirmative. I’m happy to be there every day and believe I made the right choice to work in the creative industry. Plus, I get to go on my first business trip to England in a month and a half! Ashdown holds a bead show in March or April each year, and I get to attend this one and learn more about the bead industry. And, I’ll visit another place in Europe for a couple days afterward. Right now I’m thinking that will be Berlin. 🙂

As I said, I’ve found a church out here as well. Thank goodness for that. I’m attending Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, just a few blocks from my house, singing with the choir and playing cello with a worship band. I’m not officially a member yet, but I’ll get there soon enough. The choir director is a Luther alum, so we tend to nerd out together. There are several other Luther alumni around as well. We’ll be out in full force a week from tomorrow, when the Nordic Choir comes to sing at our morning worship services! This was a lucky date choice – February 8 happens to be my birthday, and also the birthday of one of our pastors! Not to mention that night is the LC Symphony Orchestra’s Vienna Homecoming Concert on campus. Naturally I’ll be there. It’s hard to believe my luck sometimes.

Music-wise, besides church, I’ve found an orchestra out here, the Rochester Pops Orchestra. It’s a brand-new group that plays show tunes and things like that. It’s a new style to me but I’m excited. There are several Luther alumni in that group as well. I may also do some playing with the Austin Symphony, but I haven’t decided on that. I have a couple friends from Luther who are in the group. I had coffee with one of them today, actually. I drove down to Austin and chatted with her for a couple hours, reminiscing about LCSO, Vienna, and all that good stuff. I have a lot more in common with her than I realized, and I’m glad to have her as a resource. I had coffee with another friend last week, too, who drove down from the Twin Cities. I knew him from my English major activities, and he’s also a great friend and resource up that direction. I’ve enjoyed all of this. 🙂

The month has not been perfect, but I’ve already learned so much. I’m not doubting myself and am ready to keep experiencing Rochester. My heart is finally accepting that I’m not in college anymore and that it’s a good thing. The memories are good enough to be in the past now. I feel better than I have in a long time, being independent and trusting myself and knowing I’m loved. And that makes it easier to stay positive. Not to mention it prevents anxiety.

This week will be another good one at work, then on Saturday the 7th I’ll head up to the Twin Cities and visit my old roommate and good friend Melissa. I don’t know yet what we’re going to do but we shall see. I’m not terribly concerned – I will enjoy myself no matter what. 🙂

Until next time, which will be sooner rather than later… GO HAWKS!

Brita

One response to “Super Bowl Eve

  1. Pingback: Controlling My Destiny… Or Not | A Journalist's Fantasy

Leave a Reply

